Minister Donohoe announces the winners of the 2017 Civil Service Excellence and Innovation Awards

The Minister Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe, TD, was joined by the Secretary General of the Department of Public Expenditure & Reform, Robert Watt earlier this week to announce the winners of the 2017 Civil Service Excellence and Innovation Awards. The Awards were established under the Civil Service Renewal Programme to recognise the achievements of civil servants and showcase examples of best practice and innovation in Government Departments and Offices.

Speaking at the Awards ceremony held in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham that was attended by the shortlisted project teams from across the civil service, Minister Donohoe said:

‘These Awards gives us a rare opportunity to come together and reflect on the successes and recognise the excellent work that is happening throughout the civil service. The award categories themselves demonstrate the complex and diverse nature of the work of Government Departments and Offices’.

Reflecting on the challenges facing the civil service to deliver in the future, the Minister also said:

‘A key strength is the staff that make up the civil service and this is reflected in the success of the shortlisted projects. The Irish civil service compares very well with public administrations in other countries and it is recognised by our international stakeholders as a quality public administration’.

Secretary General Watt said:

‘Ireland has all the hallmarks of a professional civil service which continues to learn and develop.  We have shown over time that we can adapt and respond to challenging circumstances and embrace change and reform. Looking ahead to the future, the civil service must continue to innovate’.

And the winners are…

2017 Civil Service Excellence and Innovation Awards – Winners