The Civil Service Accountability Board is chaired by the Taoiseach and balanced with ministerial, civil service and external membership. The Board’s terms of reference are:

  • To have an overall governance role across the Civil Service and advise on and support the development of the capacity and capability of the Civil Service;
  • To provide oversight and review of proposals for a new performance management system for Secretaries General and the effective implementation and operation of the system across the Civil Service
  • To provide oversight and review of the new programme of Organisational Capability Reviews including implementation of recommendations arising out of them; and
  • To oversee Civil Service capability in implementing cross-cutting priorities set by Government or other system wide issues; this may involve considering individual case studies to promote learning and highlight best practice.

The current members of the Civil Service Accountability Board are:

  • An Taoiseach, Leo Varakar, T.D. (Chair)
  • Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney, T.D.
  • Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe, T.D.
  • Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Katherine Zappone, T.D.
  • Secretary General, Department of the Taoiseach, Martin Fraser
  • Secretary General, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, Robert Watt
  • Secretary General, Department of Education and Skills, Seán Ó Foghlú
  • Chairman of the Revenue Commissioners, Niall Cody
  • External Member, Paul Farrell
  • External Member, Bernie Gray
  • External Member, Shane Bissett
  • External Member, Jane Williams (Chair of the Top Level Appointments Committee)

The minutes of the meetings of the Board are published on an ongoing basis, and can be found below:


Accountability Board Minutes July 2016

Accountability Board Minutes November 2015

Accountability Board Minutes July 2015