Pay of Members of the Oireachtas & Ministerial & Parliamentary Office Holders

Significant reductions have been applied to the pay of Oireachtas Members and Officeholders through a number of measures since 2009, the most recent of which was under the Financial Emergency Measures in the Public Interest Act 2013 which came into effect on 1 July 2013.

The effect of these reductions is that the gross annual salary of the Taoiseach has been reduced by more than 35%, and that of the Tánaiste and Ministers by more than 30%.

The following table sets out the pay reductions applied since 1 September 2008.  It should be noted that Officeholders are paid a salary as a TD/Senator, plus an additional allowance (or salary) in respect of the specific Office held, as reflected in the link below.

Pay of Oireachtas members and Office Holders