The National Shared Services Office (NSSO) is responsible for delivering shared services within the Civil Service and setting standards and implementing government policy for shared services across the Public Service in Ireland. It is an administrative office within the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, set up in 2014 as part of the Government’s reform programme. The National Shared Services Office is led by the Chief Executive, who reports to the Secretary General of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.

Legislation is progressing to establish the NSSO as a separate Civil Service office. This is expected to take place in 2018.

The National Shared Services Office provides services to more than 100,000 public servants from 40 wide-ranging public service bodies all over Ireland. The NSSO consists of two operational shared service centres:

• the HR and Pensions Administration Shared Service Centre (PeoplePoint), which began providing shared services to the Civil Service on a phased basis in March 2013 and went fully operational at the end of 2016, and;

• the Payroll Shared Service Centre (the PSSC), which began transacting in December 2013, taking in payrolls and related services from departments and offices in groups at a time. It will become fully operational by the end of 2017.

Two projects are underway, (each project remains active until all components of it have gone into operation).

• the Payroll Shared Services Centre project and;

• the Financial Management Shared Services project. The new Finance Shared Service Centre will begin operating in mid-2018.

Within the NSSO there is also the Corporate Business Unit (CBU). This provides the corporate governance and compliance functions, such as risk management, financial management, business planning, audit, communications and engagement, and Board secretariat. It also includes the Policy & Advisory Division which includes research and policy development for shared services, and guidance and advice to shared services sectors, across the Public Service.

Read the NSSO Twitter Policy.